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Frequently Asked Questions 

The following FAQ’s have been compiled as a resource for potential candidates who are 

interested in learning more about the Police Officer recruitment, selection and hiring 

process.  Click on the arrow next to the topic to expand or collapse. 

 

Police Officer Qualifications & Requirements 
 

What are the minimum qualifications for the Entry Level Police Officer 

position? 

a. Must be a citizen of the United States (If you are a permanent resident, 
you must be eligible for and have applied for citizenship at the time of 
application and be a U.S. citizen at the time of appointment) 

b. California Government Code Section 1031(a) requires that Police Officers 
must be a high school graduate, pass the General Education 
Development test or other high school equivalency test approved by CDE, 
or have attained a two-year, four-year, or advanced degree from an 
accredited or approved institution 

c. 20.5 years of age at the time of application and 21 years of age at the time 
of appointment.  Fremont does not have a maximum age limit. 

d. Possession of a Class C California driver’s license at the time of 
appointment with a satisfactory driving record 

 

What are the minimum qualifications for the Lateral Police Officer position? 

a. Currently employed as a Police Officer or a Deputy Sheriff by a California 
law enforcement agency 

b. Successful completion of a POST-approved field or jail training program 
c. Possess a POST Basic certificate 
d. Possession of a Class C California driver’s license at the time of 

appointment with a satisfactory driving record. 
 

Recruitment, Selection & Hiring Process Overview 

 
Please note that the recruitment process may be adjusted due to the current 

COVID-19 situation. 

 

How long does the hiring process take? 

On average, the hiring process can take anywhere from three to six months.   

Entry-Level & Academy Graduate Police Officer 

What does the recruitment process consist of? 

Step 1:  Application 
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Step 2:  Written Exam 

Step 3:  Personal History Questionnaire (PHQ) 

Step 4:  Oral Board Interview 

Step 5:  Physical Agility Test 
Step 6:  Lieutenant Panel Interview 
Step 7:  Polygraph 
Step 8:  Background 
Step 9:  Executive Panel Interview  
Step 10:  Conditional Job Offer  

Lateral Police Officer 

What does the recruitment process for Lateral Police Officers consist of? 

Step 1:  Application 
Step 2:  Personal History Questionnaire (PHQ) 

Step 3:  Lieutenant Panel Interview 
Step 4:  Polygraph 
Step 5:  Background 
Step 6:  Executive Panel Interview  
Step 7:  Conditional Job Offer  

Salary 
What is the starting pay? 

Academy salary:  $8,397 monthly 

Officer salary:  $9,237 - $11,230 monthly depending on qualifications 

Benefits 
What benefits does Fremont Police Department offer? 

• Benefit highlights include: 

• On-site gym with treadmills, bikes, weights, and locker rooms 

• Outdoor basketball court and fitness area, plus access to on-site trainer 

• Towels and water 

• CalPERS retirement plan: 

• PEPRA Member – 2.7% @ 57 

• Classic Member – 3% @ 55 

• $2,350 monthly contribution toward medical and dental; vision is provided 

through Fremont Police Association (FPA) 

• $1,750 annual Uniform Allowance ($500 for first year) 

• $50K City-paid life insurance 
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Incentive 
 

Do you have incentives for Lateral Police Officers? 
The City may offer up to 10 years of service credit towards educational/POST 
incentive pay, vacation leave accrual, longevity incentive pay, and retiree medical 
reimbursement. Prior years of service credit must be approved by the City 
Manager’s Office.  

Police Academy 
 

Does the Fremont Police Department sponsor applicants through a police 

academy? 

Yes, the Fremont Police Department will sponsor applicants through a police 

academy. 

 

When is the next police academy and which police academy does the 

Fremont Police Department send their applicants to? 

The Fremont Police Department will send applicants to a police academy closest 

to their hire date.  We collaborate with several police academies and will send 

applicants to an academy that has availability at the time of hire. 

 

Will the Fremont Police Department pay for live-in expenses while 

applicants are attending a policy academy?  

The Fremont Police Department does not offer housing expenses and does not 

require new hires to stay at the police academy. 

 

How long is the police academy?   

The police academy is approximately six months.  The academy hours are 

typically Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. but may vary upon 

the academy schedule.   

Live Chat Hours with Recruitment Team 
 

Our live chat hours are Tuesdays from 1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. and Thursdays 

from 9:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.  Our team can be contacted outside these hours by 

email at fpdrecruiting@fremont.gov or by phone/text at 510-404-8934. A recruiter 

will respond within 72 hours.  Please note that live chat hours are temporarily 

extended due to the current COVID-19 situation. 

mailto:fpdrecruiting@fremont.gov
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Military Service & Information 
 

What happens if I get deployed while working for the Fremont Police 

Department? What happens if I get deployed while on probation? 

The Fremont Police Department follows federal laws regarding Uniformed 

Services Employment & Reemployment Rights Act (USERRA) and will 

coordinate with employees on a case by case basis. 

 

Do you have a federal/military buyback program? 

The Fremont Police Department's retirement system is through CalPERS.  

CalPERS offers a maximum of four years military service credit if you 

meet one of the eligibility requirements as follows: 

a) A current, former or retired member of CalPERS covered employer 

that contracts for this option  

b) A current or retired state or school member  

You cannot purchase military service credit if you: 

a) Are receiving military retirement pay based on 20 years of active 

military service  

b) Have received military service credit in any other retirement system  

  

Please visit https://www.calpers.ca.gov/page/active-members/retirement-

benefits/service-credit for additional information. 

 

Do military members get veterans preference points on the written exams? 

We do not offer veterans preference points on the written exams. 

 

What benefits are offered to retired or active military members after they 

are hired as a Police Officer? 

a) The Fremont Police Department may offer up to 7.5% for 

educational/POST incentive pay.  Military members may contact 

colleges that accept and transfer military time to educational 

credits/units. 

b) Military members, with experience working in a position like a Police 

Officer, may be offered up to 10 years of service credit towards 

educational/POST incentive pay, vacation leave accrual, longevity 

incentive pay, and retiree medical reimbursement. Prior years of 

service credit must be approved by the City Manager’s Office.  

 

https://www.calpers.ca.gov/page/active-members/retirement-benefits/service-credit
https://www.calpers.ca.gov/page/active-members/retirement-benefits/service-credit


 

5 

Can I collect from my Post 911 GI Bill during my employment with the 

Fremont Police Department? 

Yes, you can collect from your GI Bill, including Basic Allowance for 

Housing (BAH) up to 24 months while working for the Fremont Police 

Department.  These 24 months include time in the police academy, field 

training officer (FTO) program, and during probation. 

Out of State Applicants 
 

Do you consider applications from out of state? 

The Fremont Police Department will accept and consider out of state applicants.  
The recruitment process is the same as the Police Officer Entry-Level position.  
 
Do you consider applications from out of state Lateral Police Officers? 
The Fremont Police Department will accept and consider out of state Lateral 
Police Officer applicants.  Please note that out of state applicants must apply 
through the Police Officer Entry-Level/Academy Graduate position and are 
encouraged to contact our recruitment team to obtain additional information 
regarding the requirements and hiring process. 

Police Department Policies 
 

Drug Use 

Facial Hair 

Hairstyles 

Tattoos 

Probationary Period 
 

How long is the probationary period for Entry-Level Police Officers? 

The probationary period is 24 months from the date of hire. 

How long is the probationary period for Lateral Police Officers? 

The probationary period is 18 months from the date of hire. 
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How to Re-apply 
 

When can I re-apply if I fail the following steps? 

Steps Re-application Period 

Written Exam Any time 

PHQ *One year from the date of application 

Oral Board Interview Six months from the date of application 

Lieutenant Panel Interview One year from the date of application 

Pre-Poly/Polygraph *One year from the date of the failed notification.  
Applicants who fail the Polygraph twice must 
wait two years from the date of the failed 
notification from the second time they failed. 

Background *One year from the date of failed notification 

Executive Panel Interview One year from the date of the Executive Panel 
failed notification 

Medical/Psychological Evaluation One year from the date of the failed notification 

*The reapplication period may be affected if applicants fail this step in other FPD 

recruitments. 

 

Ride-Along Program 
 
Do you have a ride-along program?  

Yes, a ride-along can be requested by candidates after the successful 

completion of the Lieutenant’s panel interview. Please note that the ride-along 

program is currently on hold due to the current COVID-19 situation. 

Shift Schedule 
 

What is the work schedule for Police Officers? 

FPD Police Officers work a rotating schedule of 4 days on, then 4 days off. 

 

What shifts are worked in Fremont? 

a. Day Shift: 5:45 a.m. - 4:45 p.m. 

b. Swing Shift: 2:00 p.m. - 1:00 a.m. 

c. Midnight Shift: 8:00 p.m. - 7:00 a.m. 
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Shift Change 

Shift change occurs every six months and sign-ups are based on seniority.  

Police Officers can stay in the same shift for three years before they are required 

to change shifts. 


