Applying to become a Police Officer can feel like a job in itself. It’s the nature of the law enforcement business.
Find the answers to all the burning questions you have about the recruitment process and beyond below.
1. What is the status of my application?
Once your application has been vetted, you will be contacted by a Fremont PD Recruiter who will let you know what your next action should be.
If you have a specific question about your application, we’re available on live chat from:
- Tuesday: 9 a.m. – 12 p.m.
- Wednesday: 1 p.m. – 4 p.m.
- Thursday: 9 a.m. – 12 p.m.
You may also email email@example.com, or call/text us at (510) 404-8934.
2. What is the next step in the process?
On average, the entire recruitment process spans from 3 to 6 months and requires around 10 steps depending on whether or not you have completed a POST-certified Academy and/or previously worked at another agency. Please visit our recruitment process page to find a step-by-step guide for what you can expect as you move through FPD recruitment.
3. What areas of the recruitment process are waived for Lateral Officers and Academy Graduates?
The Written Exam, Physical Agility Test, and of course Academy training itself, are waived for both Lateral Officers and Academy Graduates. Lateral Officer applicants also skip the Oral Board Interview and move straight to the Lieutenant’s Panel Interview after their Personal History Questionnaire has been reviewed and approved.
4. What are the minimum requirements to be accepted?
To be considered for an Entry-Level Police Officer position, California Government Code Section 1031 requires that peace officers be citizens of the United States, have a high school diploma or the equivalent, possess a Class C California driver’s license and a satisfactory driving record, and be 20.5 years of age at the time of applying and 21 years of age at the time of appointment.
If you are a permanent resident and wish to become a Police Officer, you must be eligible for and have applied for citizenship, and be a U.S. citizen at the time of appointment.
To be considered for a Lateral Police Officer position, you must be currently employed as a Police Officer or a Deputy Sheriff by a California law enforcement agency, have successfully completed a POST-approved field or jail training program, possess a POST Basic certificate, and possess a Class C California driver’s license at the time of appointment with a satisfactory driving record.
5. Do I need a college degree to apply?
While a college degree is desired, the only education requirement is a high school diploma, GED, or CHSPE. Fremont PD values the life experiences that our Police Officers bring with them every day to their job above all else. You’ll be speaking with members of the public from all walks of life and put in many new situations each shift. Education, prior job experience, and military service all equip you with skillsets that can help you navigate your future career as a Police Officer. Each of these experiences will be heavily considered in the recruitment process
6. Do you consider applications from out of state?
The Fremont Police Department will accept and consider out of state applicants for both Entry-Level Police Offers and Lateral Police Officers.
Please note that all out of state applicants must apply through the Police Officer Entry-Level/Academy Graduate position and are encouraged to contact our recruitment team to obtain additional information regarding the requirements and hiring process.
7. What is the starting pay?
Academy salary: $8,397.42 monthly
Officer salary: $9,237.15 – $11,230.32 monthly depending on qualifications
8. Does Fremont PD currently have open jobs?
9. Do you have a ride-along program?
Yes, a ride-along can be requested by candidates after the successful completion of the Lieutenant’s Panel Interview. Please note that the ride-along program is currently on hold due to the current COVID-19 situation.
10. Who can I talk to regarding the testing process?
We’re available on live chat from:
- Tuesday: 1 p.m. – 4 p.m.
- Thursday: 9 a.m. – 12 p.m.
Please note that live chat hours are temporarily extended to Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays from 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. due to the current COVID-19 situation.
You may also email firstname.lastname@example.org, or call/text us at (510) 404-8934.
Additionally, there are many comprehensive resources available to help you prepare for the testing portion of the recruitment process, including:
11. When are the next Oral Board Interviews?
Oral Board Interviews typically take place 1 to 2 weeks after the Personal History Questionnaire. However, for candidates who are located over 150 miles away from Fremont, the Department often offers an accelerated process over the course of 2 to 4 days that includes the Physical Agility Test, Oral Board Interview, and the Lieutenant’s Panel Interview. For the next available Oral Board Interview date, please contact email@example.com.
12. When is the next Academy date and where?
If you are hired, Fremont will sponsor you in a local Academy that has the closest start date to your final job offer. These typically include various Bay Area Academies. You can find a list of all POST-certified Academies and further information about each one at https://post.ca.gov/basic-training-academies.
13. Does the Fremont Police Department sponsor applicants through a Police Academy?
Yes, the Fremont Police Department will sponsor applicants through a police academy.
14. Will the Fremont Police Department pay for live-in expenses while applicants are attending a Police Academy?
The Fremont Police Department does not offer housing expenses and does not require new hires to stay at the police academy. However, you will be making a salary of $8,397.42 monthly while attending the Academy.
15. What is the Department’s tattoo policy?
While on-duty or representing the Department in any official capacity, tattoos or other body art shall be concealed. Only minimal and brief incidental exposure of tattoos or body art is permitted (e.g., when reaching or stretching out of a normal stance or position).
16. What is the Department’s drug use policy?
Fremont is a Drug-Free Employer. You will be asked about all drug use during the Personal History Questionnaire (PHQ) phase. Applicants are strongly encouraged to answer all PHQ questions honestly because their responses will be verified during the entire process. Fremont will consider all responses on a case by case basis before making any determinations.
17. What is the Department’s facial hair policy?
Fremont Police Department’s policies on facial hair are as follows:
- Mustaches: A short and neatly trimmed mustache may be worn. Mustaches shall not extend below the corners of the mouth or beyond the natural hairline of the upper lip.
- Sideburns: Sideburns shall not extend below the bottom of the outer ear opening (the top of the earlobes) and shall be trimmed and neat.
- Other Facial Hair: Facial hair other than sideburns, mustaches, and eyebrows shall not be worn unless authorized by the Chief of Police or his or her designee.We allow exceptions for religious purposes at the Chief of Police’s discretion and authorization. Candidates may ask for a reasonable accommodation if they believe one is required in either the testing or hiring process. Accommodations can be requested by emailing firstname.lastname@example.org and a member of the Human Resources Department will return your email within 72 hours.
18. What is the Department’s hairstyle policy?
Hairstyles of all members shall be neat in appearance. For male employees, head hair must have a natural color and tone and not extend below the top edge of the uniform collar while assuming a normal stance.
For female employees, head hair must have a natural color and tone and be neatly shaped and arranged. While in uniform, head hair shall not fall below the standard collar’s lower edge.
For safety reasons, sworn uniformed employees and detention officers must wear their hair up or in a tightly wrapped braid or ponytail. Hair fasteners for uniformed positions are permissible, but only for safety reasons, if hair barrettes or pins are worn, they shall be small and inconspicuous.
Extreme hairstyles or hair treatment/color are prohibited.
19. What is your passing NTN exam score?
This exam is pass/fail. Minimum passing scores for Fremont Police Department are as follows:
- 65% on the video section
- 70% on the reading section
- 70% on the writing section
20. What is your passing POST PELLETB score?
This exam is pass/fail. The minimum accepted T-Score by Fremont Police Department is 51.
21. What is your passing WSTB score?
FPD candidates can submit WSTB results that are within one year of the application date to satisfy the Physical Agility Test requirements. The minimum WSTB score accepted is 384, and the 1.5 mile run is disregarded.
22. What benefits does Fremont Police Department offer?
Benefit highlights include:
- On-site gym with treadmills, bikes, weights, and locker rooms
- Outdoor basketball court and fitness area, plus access to on-site trainer
- Towels and water
- CalPERS retirement plan:
- PEPRA Member – 2.7% @ 57
- Classic Member – 3% @ 55
- $2,350 monthly City contribution toward medical and dental; vision provided through Fremont Police Association (FPA)
- $1,750 annual Uniform Allowance ($500 for first year)
- $50K City-paid life insurance
- Longevity incentive pay
- Vacation leave accrual
- For laterals, the City may offer up to 10 years of service credit towards educational/POST incentive pay
23. What happens if I get deployed while working for the Fremont Police Department?
The Fremont Police Department follows federal laws regarding Uniformed Services Employment & Reemployment Rights Act (USERRA) and will coordinate with employees on a case-by-case basis.
24. Does Fremont Police Department have a federal/military buyback program?
The Fremont Police Department’s retirement system is through CalPERS. CalPERS offers a maximum of four years military service credit if you meet one of the eligibility requirements as follows:
- A current, former or retired member of CalPERS covered employer that contracts for this option
- A current or retired state or school member
You cannot purchase military service credit if you:
- Are receiving military retirement pay based on 20 years of active military service
- Have received military service credit in any other retirement system
Please visit https://www.calpers.ca.gov/page/active-members/retirement-benefits/service-credit for additional information.
25. Do military members get veterans preference points on the written exams?
We do not offer veterans preference points on the written exams.
26. What benefits are offered to retired or active military members after they are hired as a Police Officer?
The Fremont Police Department may offer up to 7.5% for educational/POST incentive pay. Military members may contact colleges that accept and transfer military time to educational credits/units.
Military members, with experience working in a position like a Police Officer, may be offered up to 10 years of service credit towards educational/POST incentive pay, vacation leave accrual, longevity incentive pay, and retiree medical reimbursement. Prior years of service credit must be approved by the City Manager’s Office.
27. Can I collect from my Post 911 GI Bill during my employment with the Fremont Police Department?
Yes, you can collect from your GI Bill, including Basic Allowance for Housing (BAH), for up to 24 months while working for the Fremont Police Department. These 24 months include time in the Police Academy, Field Training Officer (FTO) program, and during probation.
28. What kinds of training should I expect after I get hired as a Police Officer?
It takes approximately one year of training before a Police Officer is ready to perform their duties on their own. You’ll start by attending a 6-month POST (Peace Officer Standards and Training) Basic Training Academy with salary. The Academy hours are typically Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. but may vary upon the Academy schedule.
Once you graduate, you will be promoted to Police Officer and start in-house training that includes 3 to 4 weeks of procedural and policy training, report writing preparation, meeting the team, etc. Then you’ll embark on a minimum of 19 weeks of Field Training Program with a Field Training Officer.
Beyond this initial training, FPD regularly sends Officers to training sessions throughout the state and country, including topics such a search and arrest warrants, basic crisis negotiations, interacting with canines on patrol, tactical patrol operations, trauma exposure and management, and intelligence-led investigations, based on appointment to the position.
29.How long is the probationary period?
For Entry-Level Police Officers, the probationary period is 24 months from the date of hire.
For Lateral Police Officers, the probationary period is 18 months from the date of hire.
30.What is the work schedule for Police Officers?
FPD Police Officers work a rotating schedule of 4 days on, then 4 days off. The following shifts are worked in Fremont:
- Day Shift: 5:45 a.m. – 4:45 p.m.
- Swing Shift: 2 p.m. – 1 a.m.
- Midnight Shift: 8 p.m. – 7 a.m.
Shift change occurs every six months and sign-ups are based on seniority. Police Officers can stay in the same shift for three years before they are required to change shifts.
31. If I’m not selected, when can I re-apply?
This will depend on where in the application process you were disqualified.
- If you fail the written exam, you can re-apply immediately and submit a new, passing score. Re-test periods are 30 days for PELLETB and 3 months for NTN.
- Six months from date of application if you:
- Were disqualified following your Oral Board Interview
- One year from date of application if you:
- Failed the Personal History Questionnaire
- Were disqualified following your Lieutenant Panel Interview
- One year from failed notification of:
- Polygraph Exam; if failed twice, you must wait two years from first time failed
- Background Check
- Executive Panel Interview
- Medical/Psychological Evaluation